Bluest Eye: Climax Analysis

                The conflict of Morrison’s “the Bluest Eye” was resolved in an interesting way.  The protagonist Pecola sought out the help of a former reverend whom was given the name “Soaphead Church”.  She went to Soaphead and asked for blue eyes.  Soaphead initially said that he could not help her, but then decided to trick her.  He said that she would gain blue eyes if she gave a piece of meat to the dog outside.  If the dog acted strange afterwards, she would have blue eyes.  She did as he asked, and the begin to act very strange, and then succumb.  She left, thinking that she had blue eyes. What Pecola didn’t know is that Soaphead poisoned the meat, and was planning on killing the dog himself.  He saw opportunity in Pecola, and had her kill the dog.  I also believe that this is the conflict of the story because all of Pecola’s conflicts amount to this resolution, and she changed the way that she perceives herself permanently.

                Pecola changed her own self-image, but not to other people.  She convinced herself that she had the bluest eyes in the world, and would spend her summer days talking to her conscience about her blue eyes.  I suppose that one discovery that can be drawn from this is that you shouldn’t worry about how other people perceive you, but I think that Pecola discovered that she was finally beautiful to herself.  She tricked herself into thinking that she actually had blue eyes, and nothing else mattered to her.  I thought that this was a very interesting turn in the story.  I would have never expected for Cholly to not only rape her, but also impregnate her too.  Morrison did a tremendous job of showing how Pecola simply went insane in the last segment of the book.  Her use of dialogue spoke volumes about Pecola’s newfound attitude and personality while only committing about 4 pages to the new Pecola.  I envisioned a young, pregnant girl walking the streets talking to herself, almost like a feral homeless man who walks the city of Charlotte.  Also, my jaw was literally dropped as Morrison described not only that Cholly raped her, but she also began to describe how Cholly felt about doing it.  It sickened me as much as it made me respect Morrison for writing details that could make her feel so vulnerable to criticism.  I also enjoyed the very last segment, in which Frieda and Claudia describe their reaction to the new Pecola.  It brought closure to the story, and overall, the book was an  excellent read.

2 responses to “Bluest Eye: Climax Analysis

  1. I completely agree with just about everything you said in this post. Most of all, I love how you compared Pecola to a denizen of Charlotte. I hadn’t thought of her that way, but once i read your mental picture, i could also see it myself. I, too, was also disgusted by Cholly’s pleasure in tearing his daughter’s world apart.

  2. I definitely agree with your opinion of the scenes Morrison described. They were sickening and difficult to read but they had a point to the overall lesson. I also liked the discovery you drew from the story and it is a lesson that many people coud benefit from.

Leave a comment